Node Lifecycle Overview

So far, you have created and run an EventFlow fragment, and done so entirely in StreamBase Studio. Studio has done the work for you of encapsulating the fragment in a StreamBase Runtime node.

StreamBase Runtime nodes have a defined lifecycle with four stages. All nodes must be:

  • Installed

  • Started

When a node is started, the fragments in that node are now running. You can connect to the EventFlow fragment's API listening port with clients to view status and schemas, enqueue tuples to, and dequeue tuples from that fragment. For a started and running LiveView fragment, you can use a standard browser to view the tables managed by that fragment.

To shut down a running fragment, its containing node must be:

  • Stopped

  • Removed

See Node Lifecycle in the Concepts Overview for further details.